The JVW Diamond League, which was established in 2012, is one of the largest and most prominent participation leagues for girls’ school football in South Africa. Initially, the league started with only 12 teams in the Ekurhuleni region and was divided into U15 and Open age groups.

Over the years, the league has grown significantly, and it currently hosts over 170 school teams across Gauteng, split into U15, U17, and Open age groups. Approximately 3200 girls actively participate in the league at the school level. The league’s growth is a testament to its success and popularity among young female players.

The JVW Diamond League is more than just a competition; it’s a platform that has revolutionized women’s football development. The league has created opportunities for young female players, contributing to the development of the sport and women’s football in South Africa. The league has been at the forefront of Women’s Football Development and has pioneered the way in developing talented female players.

The league’s playoff weekend is an exciting and intense two-day event that determines the overall winner. The top schools from each group compete against each other, providing young players with a platform to showcase their skills and talents. The overall winner is crowned the JVW Diamond League champion, a coveted title among young female football players.

The league’s impact extends beyond the competition and the field. It has played a significant role in developing women’s football and has been instrumental in scouting aspiring players for National Teams across all levels. The league has provided young female players with the opportunity to pursue their passion, develop their skills, and achieve their dreams.

In conclusion, the JVW Diamond League is a fantastic platform for young female players to showcase their skills and talents while contributing to the development of women’s football in South Africa. With its growth and success, the league has become a driving force in the promotion of women’s football, and aspiring young female players should take advantage of the opportunities it provides to achieve their dreams.


2012 Schools League Player of the Year, Nelisiwe Mchunu (Petit High School) was scouted from the schools league to the South African Senior Women’s National Team (Banyana Banyana) and earned her first cap in 2013.

2013 & 2014 Schools League Player of the Year, Amanda Mthandi (Hoerskool Vorentoe) made her debut for South Africa in the South African Women’s National U20 Team and scored a goal in her debut match. Amanda was also selected as part of the Banyana Banyana Team who made their debut at the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup in France.

2017 Schools League Player of the Year Shakeerah Jacobs (Parktown High School for Girls) was selected in the U20 Women’s National Team Squad.

2019 Schools League Player of the Year Jessica Wade, (Waterstone College), captained the U17 National team in the U17 COSAFA Cup and received player of the tournament award. Jessica Wade was also selected as part of the U17 Women’s World Cup Squad in 2018.

2019 Goalkeeper of the Year Rosalie James (Parktown High School for Girls) was recently selected for the U17 Women’s National Team and made her debut in the U17 World Cup Qualifier against Zambia in March 2020.

Awards Ceremony

A prestigious awards ceremony is held at the end of the season to award the top performing teams, players and coaches in a memorable environment which seeks to add an extra bit of motivation and excitement to the players.

2023 Winners:

Open: Norkem Park High School
U17: Meridian Cosmo City 
U15: Germiston High School

2022 Winners:

Open: Acudeo College Thornview
U17: Redhill School
U15: Germiston High School

2019 Winners:

Open: Parktown High School for Girls
U17: The King’s School West Rand
U15: Edenvale High School

2018 Winners:

Open: Parktown High School for Girls
U17: Sandringham High School
U15: Edenvale High School

Individual AWARDS